Site icon Banking Gurukul [ ব্যাংকিং গুরুকুল ] GDCN

Dhaka Wanderers, Agarani Bank share point in BCL

Dhaka Wanderers, Agarani Bank share point in BCL : Dhaka Wanderers Club came from behind, forced Agrani Bank Limited Sporting Club to play a 1-1 goal draw in the Bashundhara Group Bangladesh Championship League football held today (Friday) at Birshreshtha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the city’s Kamalapur.

In the proceeding, Nazmul put Agrani Bank Limited ahead in the 18th minute while after the breather Minhaz leveled the margin for Dhaka Wanderers Club scoring a goal in the 89th minute of the match. Dhaka Wanderers Club (Bengali: ঢাকা ওয়ান্ডারার্স ক্লাব) is a football team from Dhaka, Bangladesh.

[ Dhaka Wanderers, Agarani Bank share point in BCL ]

They are one of the oldest clubs in Bangladesh and currently compete in the Bangladesh Championship League (BCL)

Dhaka Wanderers Club was Founded in 1937, The club was first known as Muslim Wanderers, until it became Dhaka Wanderers over time as a bunch of sports-lovers from Old Dhaka brought the club into a prominent position in the local sports arena. Under the teams president Abdul Gaffar who came from the Nawab’s of Dhaka, they became a popular name in Bengali football after its debut in the Dhaka football scene in 1937. With the help of Gafur Beluch, Maznur Hasan and Santu, Wanderers lifted the first-division trophy 5 times.

Before Bangladesh’s independence in 1971, Wanderers produced local talents like Nabi Chowdhury, Amir Jang Ghaznabi, Ashraf Chowdhury, Chihla Mong Chowdhury Mari, Manzur Hasan Mintu, Zakaria Pintoo and Wazed Gazi to only name a few. The club’s most prominent players Mong Chowdhury got the chance to represent the Pakistan national team and defender Zakaria Pintoo later went on to become the captain of the Shadhin Bangla Football Team.

Including their first league trophy in 1950, the club won a total of 7 Dhaka League titles from 1950 to 1970. The historic club also won the league every season from 1950 to 1956. Wanderers are the only club from Bangladesh to win the IFA Shield, however, like all their other achievements the trophy was lost burnt during a local riot. During the fifties and sixties, the Wanderers and Mohammedan rivalry was the biggest and most anticipated game in Bengali football.

Nonetheless, overtime after the Independence of the nation in 1971, the rivalry had lost its presence, as the club moved to the second division in the nineties, losing its huge support base and popularity all over the country. Former Bangladesh prime minister Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rhaman was also a regular player at the club during the early 40s and 50s. It was under his captaincy, Wanderers won the Bogura Cup and in the final, Bangabandhu also managed to score a brace, leading his side to a 5–0 victory.

Source: DHAKA, March 11, 2022 (BSS)

Read more:

PM Sheikh Hasina today proposed the FAO to establish International Seed Bank

Exit mobile version